Use Discount

Recall Information

HOVERBOARD LLC Recalls self balancing scooters which contain Lithium-Ion batteries that may overheat.

July 6, 2016

VOLUNTARY PRODUCT RECALL

*This only applies to boards purchased between September 2015 and April 2016. All boards purchased after April 2016 are UL 2272 certified and are not subject to this voluntary recall.

Dear Powerboard® owner:

Hoverboard LLC has determined that the Powerboard® brand self-balancing scooters could overheat, causing a potential hazard. This could allow the unit to smoke, catch fire, or explode. Hoverboard LLC is committed to customer satisfaction and safety and is voluntarily recalling and offering an exchange for unit that has been tested to conform to the newly released UL-2272 standards for safety.

There have been 27 reports of the self-balancing scooters/hoverboards overheating, sparking and smoking, including one report of property damage. No injuries have been reported.

These scooters were sold in green, blue, black, red, white, chrome, gold chrome and pink, and can be identified by the POWERBOARD® marking on the left side of the board, and were sold between September 2015 and April 2016 for prices between $350 and $1,000.

If you own a Powerboard® model #PB-001 self-balancing scooter, please immediately stop use and contact Hoverboard LLC at 1-800-750-6714, M-F, 7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m., Mountain Standard Time (10:30 a.m. – 7 p.m. EDT; 7:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. PDT) for information and instructions on how to return your Powerboard® for a free replacement, at no cost ($0) to you.

We are experiencing high call volume during the recall process and this may result in an inability to connect to our customer service agent. If you are unable to connect with a customer service agent please leave a voicemail, or try calling again later. Thank you for your patience.


Sincerely,
Hoverboard, LLC